Simone Shubuck: visual artist

simone_photo

In the last several years I have been working with paper, pencils of different sorts, paint and collage exclusively (prior to that, I had been experimenting with all kinds of mixed media: food, grafitti, installation, etc). 

In my current work, I use a semi-conscious process in which I have some bookends, or specific references to concrete things, that I combine with a totally unconscious level of just letting the work happen without exact intentions. I consider the “heart” of my work an ongoing series of small drawings in boxes. The boxes unintentionally made their way into the work by sort of chance. One of the recurring things I find in my practice is that I am always kind of unaware at first that some of the most interesting things I’m doing are the things I don’t consider art. Initially these boxes were just something I carted the work around in, with pencils and erasures…a sort of portable studio. Inside there are a pieces that I tend to treat like a mix tape: the edit, the order, the intimacy of thumbing through them is part of the piece.

 

ss_TheActualSizeOfEverything2007_56x47

 The Actual Size of Everything 56″x47″

 

ss_AboutToPut...2007_76x56

About To Put… 76″x 56″

 

SS_FountainCoffee05_17x22_s

Fountain Coffee 17″x 22″

 

SS_ShellMonster05_38x27.5_s

Shell Monster 38″x 27″

 

ss_installation view_suzie-q_table2

 

Box2_small

 

Box7_small

 

Box6_small

 

Box4_small

 

Box11_small

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Artist Profiles

5 responses to “Simone Shubuck: visual artist

  1. Aaron Dukes

    Hi Simone – cool, I really like these. Hope you are good…

  2. phil McGaughy

    Simone rocks like clean socks!

  3. Lindsay Marx

    I like to imagine you drawing the work as i’m looking at it. That is the exact sensation your work gives me. Great work.

  4. E.J.Rodriguez

    Hi Simone,
    Your boy is so beautiful, I’m wishing you and your Fam all the best. Love,Love,Love your work, So many great pieces, Shell Monster is amazing and that last piece with the Blue Black and Brown is Gorgeous and Hypnotic.

  5. Simone,

    i completely love your work. intimate, sublime, detailed and specific, yet loose and abstract.

    thank you for sharing,
    old pal oona besman

Leave a Reply

